Avocado Carpaccio, Passion Fruit, Lemon & Coriander

I freely admit, this is an unusual recipe, but please bear with me! I’m still not sure how I came up with the idea of using passion fruit in a savoury context, but it works surprisingly well with aromatic coriander and creamy avocado flesh. The recipe stemmed from me wanting to experiment with the idea of making a vegetable carpaccio, shifting something classically Italian into a new exciting realm. On my last sojourn to London, I had lunch at Palomar in Soho, and shared a raw beetroot carpaccio, garnished with hazelnuts, goats cheese and honey & date syrup, and my god it was heavenly! Stop piling your food so high, and spread it out nice and thin. Embrace the carpaccio and try this for yourself!

Also, last time I’m going to bug you all with this, but nominations for the NE Blogger Awards 2015 close this Friday 23rd Sept!! If you like my blog and recipes, it would mean the world to me if you could nominate SomethingCleanSomethingGreen.com in the category ‘Best Food & Drink Blog’! Click here to go the website, and the nomination part is at the bottom of the page! Thank you so much! 

Serves 1

  • Avocado. 1
  • Passion fruit. ½
  • Small handful
  • Lemon. ½
  • Olive oil. 1 tbs
  • Salt & pepper

Halve the avocado, remove the core and peel off the skin. Slice each half into thin slivers using a mandolin, or slicing as thinly as you can with a knife. Arrange the slices on a plate or small platter.

Halve the passion fruit and scoop out the seeds and flesh from one of the halves into a small bowl, and break up any clumps with a spoon (You want it to be an even consistency), then drizzle over the avocado. Chop the coriander and sprinkle it over the avocado too.

Grate the zest of half a lemon over the avocado, and squeeze over a little of the juice. Finish the carpaccio with some olive oil and seasoning, and voila!

Ted x

You can follow me here!

https://instagram.com/somethingclean_green

https://twitter.com/tedwardooo

9 thoughts on “Avocado Carpaccio, Passion Fruit, Lemon & Coriander

Leave a comment